Greenest Business Card Ever

Hiya, ArtFolk,

Whew! It’s been a busy, busy week. I’m now in freakout mode because the Glenwood Avenue Arts Festival is NEXT WEEKEND! I found a fellow artist to share my booth.  This will allow me the luxury of taking bathroom breaks every once in a while. My booth mate, Rachel, is a textile artist. You can see her work here.

Ah, but I have even more news: I designed and printed a business card. Here it is:

ClairMicklin_BusinessCard_CMYK_r02

I realize that it’s hard to see where my blog begins and my business card ends.  I mean, this blog is kind of a business card anyway. I erased my phone number and email address on the card above because I don’t want my crazed fans to get any ideas.

You know what the most exciting thing about getting this business card is? I used a green printer.  I went to Digital Hub, a local print shop.  These people are green in so many different ways that I think it’s better I send you to the ‘environment’ section of their  website.  There you can read about all of their super cool eco-initiatives. Today took a lovely walk on Chicago Ave and then up Halsted to visit Digital Hub and take a look at my proofs. I really like their building. It’s large, bright, and open. I talked to the guy who did my prints and found out about how Digital Hub became a green printer.  He said that Digital Hub used to be a typesetter and slowly transitioned into its present state when clients repeatedly sought a printer with the Forestry Stewardship Council certification. Many clients refused to do business with a printer unless it had that certification. So it was more as a matter of practicality that the Digital Hub first started greening.

I’m happy to support a local green business. Do you think I’ll run out of my 250 business cards at the art fair? I also have to use them the following weekend at the Lillstreet Member Show. I really need to get cracking on my preparations for that.  Tonight I hope to use a friend’s studio to finish my pieces for the Lillstreet show. Then I will get them framed on Sunday. I am already starting to feel exhausted, but that could be partly attributable to the humidity and heat today.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment